$49

Star Ratings

Documentation  •  Changelog

Documentation

BREAKING CHANGE (v2.0.0)

Is this relevant for you?

This warning is only for people who are:

  • Updating from an existing Craft 2 site.
  • Allowed anonymous rating on your site.

If you are not upgrading from Craft 2, or your site does not allow anonymous rating, then this warning is not for you.

What was the change?

Between Craft 2 and Craft 3, there was a significant internal change within Craft which changes how cookies are stored. Specifically, it changed how cookies were named, and how their values were encoded.

What are the repercussions?

It means that your anonymous voters will lose their existing vote history when you upgrade to Craft 3. Since their vote history was stored in a cookie, and those cookies are irretrievable, their vote histories are essentially gone.

To be fair, anonymous rating was never all that secure, which is why it was always highly discouraged.

What can I do about it?

Sadly, nothing.

A valiant effort was made to salvage existing vote history cookies. Unfortunately, those efforts were dashed by the truly complex nature of the Craft 2 cookie encoding mechanism.

For full details, see this Stack Exchange post...